Fox College Libraries

Resources for Fox College/Vet Tech Institute students & faculty

Databases

Below are the current databases Fox College subscribes to.  These databases offer access to relevant reference materials, journal articles, newspapers and videos to supplement student research on our campuses.  All databases are accessible both on-campus and off-campus unless otherwise noted below.

Disclaimer:  All login information for off-campus access will need to be obtained from the handout given to you in your first term.  Since this is a public website, we cannot post login information to these databases at the risk of unauthorized access. Extra copies of the handout are available in either library or on Schoology.

Credo Reference

  • A reference database containing encyclopedic articles and dictionaries related to hundreds of different topics.  Use this database to begin your research.  The “Mind Map” feature is a great way to brainstorm about a topic and find related search terms to use in other databases.

Newsbank

  • This database covers local, regional, national and international newspapers.  It also provides access to news magazines.  Among those offered are: TIME, Newsweek, Chicago Sun-Times, and the New York Times. The “Find A Topic” feature is a great way to look for articles pertaining to a particular topic.

ProQuest

  • We currently subscribe to two ProQuest databases.  ABI/INFORM is for business research and is aimed primarily at the Administrative Assisting program.  The Nursing and Allied Health database is aimed at our Medical Assisting, OTA, Dental Hygiene, PTA and Vet Tech programs.  These two databases offer scholarly and trade publications.  Some are peer-reviewed and both offer full-text.  Please choose one of the links below to get started:

Reference USA  (on-campus access only)

  • This is an excellent source for researching businesses. It provides
    information on parent companies, subsidiaries, organization charts, etc.

International Clinical Educators (ICE) Video Library

  • An online collection of videos detailing patient assessment and treatments primarily for occupational and physical therapy programs.